How to Unlink Udemy from Facebook



    Your boss needs you to get some specific training on a new skill that will help you get a promotion within your department, so he has you register for a course on Udemy. Rather than add to the hundreds of usernames and passwords that you currently juggle, you decide to sign up using Facebook, but now that the course is over, you no longer want the accounts linked.


    How do you unlink Udemy from Facebook? Udemy can be unlinked from Facebook by logging into Facebook and going to:

    • Settings

    • Apps and websites

    • Check the box on the far right of the Udemy row

    • Click the blue “Remove” button

    By following the above steps within the Facebook app, the Udemy student should no longer receive notifications, alerts, or updates regarding activity regarding his or her Udemy account.



    How to Unlink Udemy from Facebook on Desktop or Laptop

    The Udemy student can unlink his or her account from Facebook on a desktop or laptop using a series of straightforward steps. First, the Udemy student will need to go to www.facebook.com and log into Facebook using his or her Facebook login credentials.


    Settings

    Once logged in and on the Facebook homepage, the user will want to look toward the upper right-hand corner of the screen on the blue taskbar ribbon. At the far right of this ribbon, the user will notice a small, downward-pointing triangle. This is the necessary icon.


    After clicking on this downward-pointing triangle, a menu will become visible with a variety of choices. Near the very bottom of this menu, just above the “Log Out” option, there will be a selection titled “Settings.” The user needs to click on this “Settings” option.


    Apps and Websites

    After entering the “Settings” portal, there will be a menu on the left-hand side of the screen. This menu will be divided into four sections. At the top of the fourth section, there will be a selection titled “Apps and Websites.” The user needs to click on this “Apps and Websites” option.


    Check the Box on the Far Right of the Udemy Row

    Near the top of the “Apps and Websites” page, the user will notice three columns: Active, Expired and Removed. Users should have the “Active” page visible by default, but if not, he or she needs to click on the “Active” column to ensure that the correct information is visible.


    Once the active apps and websites appear, the user will need to search for Udemy. The list is not in alphabetical order, so the time it takes to identify Udemy will vary, depending on how many apps and websites the user is subscribed to through Facebook. The user may need to click the “See More” option if Udemy is not immediately present.


    After locating the Udemy logo in the active “Apps and Websites” list, the user will notice a box at the far right-hand side of the row. He or she needs to make sure this box is checked.


    Click the Blue “Remove” Button

    By checking the box at the end of the Udemy row, the user will notice a blue “Remove” button near the upper right-hand corner of the page become illuminated. He or she needs to click this button.


    After clicking the “Remove” button, the user will be presented with a disclaimer. This will let the user know that his or her Udemy account and activity may be deleted. It will prompt the user to check with the Udemy website to confirm what personal information he or she wants Udemy to keep on file after the account is unlinked from Facebook. There will also be an option to have any previously posted Udemy information removed from the user’s Facebook timeline.


    Once the user is comfortable with all options regarding his or her Udemy account, he or she will want to click the blue “Remove” button at the bottom of the disclaimer. This will unlink Udemy from Facebook, ceasing any notifications, alerts, or updates that the user had previously been receiving via Facebook.



    How to Unlink Udemy from Facebook on Mobile or Tablet

    If you’re like most modern-day users, you probably spend more time accessing the Internet from a mobile device or tablet than you do on a full-screen computer. If this is the case, you will need to follow a very similar set of steps to unlink Udemy from Facebook as those taken on desktop or laptop.


    1. Open the Facebook app - most apps keep users logged in, but if not, make sure you are logged into the correct Facebook account

    2. Tap the three horizontal bars - this icon, at the bottom right-hand side of the Facebook app, will pull up a menu. The user will need to scroll to the bottom of the menu and locate “Settings & Privacy.”

    3. Tap “Settings & Privacy” - this will pull up a sub-menu. At the top of this sub-menu, the user needs to locate “Settings.”

    4. Tap “Settings” - this will direct the user to a new menu. In the second section of this menu titled “security,” the user will notice an “Apps and Websites” options

    5. Tap “Apps and Websites” - this will direct the user to a menu with several options. He or she needs to locate the option at the very top of the list titled “Logged in With Facebook.”

    6. Tap “Logged in With Facebook” - this will give the user the list of all apps and websites he or she is logged in with using Facebook. He or she needs to scroll through until locating Udemy

    7. Tap the circle directly to the left of Udemy - this will illuminate the blue “Remove” box at the upper left-hand corner of the “Apps and Websites” list

    8. Tap the blue “Remove” button - this will pull up the same disclaimer seen on the desktop version of Facebook. Once the user is satisfied with all options regarding his or her Udemy account, he or she will need to click the blue “Remove” button for a second time within the disclaimer box

    This will unlink Udemy from Facebook, ceasing any notifications, alerts, or updates that the user had previously been receiving.



    What if I Don’t Want to Completely Unlink Udemy from Facebook?

    Maybe you’ve just finished a course on Udemy and are no longer interested in receiving Facebook notifications from the online school. However, you loved your experience and could really see yourself enrolling in another class very soon. There are options for putting Udemy on mute in the background without completely unlinking it from your Facebook account.


    Limiting Udemy Communication on Desktop or Laptop

    Udemy notifications can be limited in a very straightforward manner, using many of the same steps used in unlinking from Facebook.


    1. Go to www.facebook.com and log in

    2. Go to the downward-facing triangle on the blue taskbar ribbon in the upper right-hand corner and click on “Settings.”

    3. Click on “Apps and Websites” in the menu on the left-hand side of the screen

    4. Locate Udemy in the apps and websites list

    5. Click “View and edit.”

    This will bring up a menu that allows the user to choose notification settings. By limiting notifications and communication while Udemy is not actively being used, the user can easily re-visit his or her account in the event that he or she wants to enroll in another Udemy course.



    Limiting Udemy Communication on Mobile or Tablet

    Udemy notifications are also easily limited using mobile or tablet, using many of the same steps necessary for unlinking from Facebook.


    1. Open the Facebook app

    2. Tap the three horizontal bars in the lower right-hand corner

    3. Tap “Settings & Privacy”

    4. Tap “Settings”

    5. Tap “Apps and Websites”

    6. Tap “Logged in With Facebook”

    7. Locate Udemy in the apps and websites list

    8. Click “Edit”

    This will bring up the same notifications’ menu seen on the desktop site. Likewise, this will easily allow the user to limit Udemy notifications and communication while making it easy to re-visit his or her account for another course in the future.

    Interested in trying out a Udemy course? Check our lists of most-recommended Udemy courses by category.